ExeterCouncil Resources Committee pays silent tribute to former Strategic Director, Hazel Ball

Tonight I chaired my first ever meeting of Exeter City Council’s Scrutiny Committee – Resources . Before the meeting proper got underway, I had a solemn duty to perform

I have the sad task of announcing the death of one of our former directors, Hazel Ball – who died on Saturday morning following a short illness.

She spent 35 years working for the local authority, joining in 1976 and working up through the ranks. She became Head of Environmental Health Services in 1996 and then a Strategic Director in 2001.

In 2012, she retired from the City Council as Director of Community and Environment.

But even in retirement Hazel continued to influence me personally.

Not only did I enjoy reading about here personal quest to find the best doughnuts in Exeter, she mentored me in the fine detail of the planning conditions of the Exeter Energy from Waste plant – her last comment to me as a Direct Message on Twitter was made only a few weeks ago.

In addition, I know she was a staunch supporter of Exeter CAB in her role of Trustee – and I know that she will be missed equally next door as she will be here in the Civic Centre.Donought

I invite you to join me in observing a minute’s silent reflection in respectful memory of Hazel.

WebAdminTool_1740316080

Hazel’s biography on the Exeter CAB website:

Hazel Ball

Vice chair
Became a trustee in: 1985
Chair of Advice Exeter

Being a trustee gives me an insight into how life is experienced by many Exonians especially when they are facing difficult times.

Trustees should bring their wider experience to the board to help the organisation. I have experience in management, including finance and staff management, along with strategic planning. I also have a good feel for the local government world and the interrelationships between the statutory and voluntary sectors.

I think the CAB is the source of free advice about anything and everything. The best thing about the CAB is the quality of the advice given which derives from the quality of the volunteers, the robust quality control and the training and information provided to the volunteers.

It would be great to see a future where funding was secure and we didn’t have to spend so much time chasing money!

Rather unusually, I spent my whole career with Exeter City Council. I have recently retired from my job as Director of Community and Environment. After leaving university with a biology degree, I joined the council as a trainee environmental health officer. I worked my way up to Head of Environmental Health Services and then to Director, retiring from my job as Director of Community and Environment in 2012. I was responsible for many of the council’s public-facing services including housing, leisure and museums, environmental health, parks and open spaces, building and contract services.

I have also been a school governor and a trustee of other organisations.

I am married to a retired librarian and we have two daughters – one is a graphic designer and the other is training as a physiotherapist. I also volunteer as an Exeter Cathedral Guide and a Church Recorder. I have an allotment and love reading, walking and gardening. I sing with Exeter Choral Society.

And here’s a tribute to Hazel from Exeter City Council:

City Council pays tribute to former director Hazel Ball
29/06/2015

Staff and Councillors at Exeter City Council have been saddened by the news of the death of one of its former directors, Hazel Ball.

Hazel died on Saturday morning following a short illness.

She retired from the City Council in 2012 as Director of Community and Environment . She spent 35 years working for the local authority, joining in 1976 and working up through the ranks. She became Head of Environmental Health Services in 1996 and then a Strategic Director in 2001.

Council Leader Pete Edwards paid tribute to Hazel. “I am very saddened by this news,” he said. “It is sadly ironic that she took early retirement and then became desperately ill. Hazel was a  long serving member of staff and showed great loyalty to the City Council.  I would like to send my condolences to all of her family.”

Karime Hassan, Chief Executive and Growth Director, said: “Hazel was an outstanding public servant with an impeccable career at the City Council. It hits us all when something like this happens. Hazel will be sadly missed.

Express and Echo

 

Thursday 02 July 2015

Tributes to ‘outstanding civil servant’ Hazel Ball

Tributes have been paid to Hazel Ball, a former Director at Exeter City Council. who died on Saturday after a short illness.

Hazel retired from the City Council in 2012 as Director of Community and Environment . She had spent 35 years working for the local authority, joining in 1976 and working her way up through the ranks. She became Head of Environmental Health Services in 1996 and then a Strategic Director in 2001.

Pete Edwards, Leader of the City Council said: “I am very saddened by this news. It is sadly ironic that she took early retirement and then became desperately.”

Karime Hassan, the City Council’s Chief Executive and Growth Director, said: “Hazel was an outstanding public servant with an impeccable career at the City Council. Hazel will be sadly missed.

Hazel was involved for many years with Exeter’s Citizens’ Advice Bureau.

Steve Barribbal, CAB’s Chief Executive said: “Hazel first joined the board of Exeter CAB in 1980. More recently she took on the role of Vice-Chair of the charity.

“Hazel always brought important insights into emerging strategies and of suggestions where we could benefit from these opportunities.

“She was a vocal advocate for the work of the charity throughout her career and in retirement.

“As a member of our Resources Committee, Hazel brought about important improvements to the services we provide to our clients and was also instrumental in developing the terms and conditions of our staff.

“Her dedication to our charity, and the city was clear for all to see.”

Mr Barriball added: “Until recently I could still expect an e-mail from Hazel about various issues that were affecting our clients or the service. That was who she was.

“We will miss her desperately. Our thoughts are with Jeff, Lydia and Ellie at this extremely difficult time.”

 

Leave a Reply

