Pulling my finger out about the potholes around Cowick

I’ve been contacted by a a resident about a number of issues, including the number of potholes around the ward.

The roads around here, notably Somerset Avenue, Sussex Close & Dorset Avenue are an absolute disgrace. 

They a patchwork quilt of potholes, some of which have been bodged up but a lot of them have been left untouched.

This is what we have been doing about the potholes

As ever, this is a Devon County Council issues, in their remit as Highways Authority.

Throughout the county, Devon are budgeting for £35m a year for road resurfacing – unfortunately it costs £65m to keep them in the current – appalling – state.

Nothing I can say or do can change that decision.

But I am working with my colleagues to draw attention to state of the roads in Cowick.

I’m not sure if you saw any of the articles in the Express & Echo but we recently ran a petition about the condition of Dorset Avenue – I counted over 200 potholes along the entire length.

That petition was presented to Full Council in December, and we are now waiting for a response from DCC. I will admit I am not hopeful of a good outcome. But I have other measures up my sleeve to take this further.

It’s not as favouritism that we were focussing on Dorset Avenue, but because of the vast number of potholes. Be assured that  we are aware that all roads throughout the ward are, similiarly, in a terrible state of repair.

So although many roads are in desperate need of a resurface, as it stands at present DCC will only tackle what are described as ‘safety defects’ – 40mm deep (that’s the size of a golf ball) and at least 30cm long in one direction, leading to the patchwork you describe.

I will continue to walk around Cowick with my trusty golf ball and  point out to DCC when I believe a pothole is big enough to be a ‘safety defect’.

Leave a Reply

